Limits of Adhesion #2

This is a great reminder to check out your bike and gear pre-ride.

Brian's Blog

A month ago I had a MotoGP moment on my bicycle (I blogged about it here) – things got a bit slippy when I took a bend as quick I usually do… ok, maybe a little quicker. It was the second slip with in a matter of days – no offs, just wake-up calls. I thought perhaps I was just being a bit too eager/overly-confident, so I’ve been taking that bend and others easier.

I also wondered if my Continental-branded tyres had lost grip with age. I had glanced at them and the tread looked ok – having not had a puncture for some time the tyres don’t get a close look at. Because the front wears slowly it has lasted three years now and I thought perhaps the rubber had lost lost some of its gripiness after doing almost 14K miles (I think I’m on my third rear…

View original post 189 more words

Leave a Reply

