Changes Changes Changes

Good evening, to all. Hope all is well. I wanted to talk about changes to your bike. I’ve been dreaming of a nice new shiny bike but I haven’t even really broken in the one I have. It is not a big snazzy name brand. I did a lot of research and was told to just get a bike that was the right size and just ride. So off I went. This is the bike I ride.(see pic at top of blog) The brand of the bike is The Vilano. Here are the specs: 

This is an affordable entry level 21 speed road bike and one of our best sellers. It features a lightweight 6061 aluminum frame with an integrated headset and a Shimano drivetrain with A050 handlebar mounted shifters.

The complete bike weighs in at an impressive 24 lbs, the lightest in it’s class. Free pedals are included with every bike!

Full Specs:
Speeds: 21
Frame: 6061 Double Butted Aluminum
Fork: 700c 1 1/8″ Threadless
Shifters: Shimano A050
Front Derailleur: Shimano
Rear Derailleur: Shimano
Crankset: Alloy Triple 50/40/30
Wheelset: 700c Doubled Walled CNC Alloy Machined Sides
Freewheel: 7 speed
Tires:700c x 25c
Chain: KMC
Brakes: Alloy Caliper
Headset: 1 1/8″ Integrated
Handlebar: Alloy
Saddle: Urban comfort
Seatpost: Alloy 27.2

Ok now to the topic at hand, since we are all caught up on what I’m starting with. I have been riding on and off with this bike for 1 1/2 or so, give or take. Now I’m ready for change. I want to improve this bike so it will be lighter and more user friendly. So far I have changed the saddle to one that doesn’t hurt my nether region as much.

The next improvement that I have going on is that I purchased a set of micro shifters at a decent price.

I have been having a reach problem that is causing undo stress on my back and making it a little uncomfortable for reaching my brakes and such, so I purchased a new stem to bring my handlebars a bit closer to me.

I have also purchased a few bike pouches to hold my first aid kit, repair kit, and tools in case of emergency.

I also added some new safety gear, can never have to much…

Plus not included in pics are a new bell, and a headlight as well. Okay here is the big QUESTIONS. What else would you guys suggest I do to make my bike better without putting too much into a $300 bike? When do you think is the best time to look for your first next bike? If this was your bike what would you do next, if anything? Also tell me if I messed up anywhere or what parts do you consider when you upgrade you bike. Thanks for checking out my thoughts. Look forward to hearing your honest opinion on what I’ve done so far.

2 thoughts on “Changes Changes Changes

  1. Okay, first, other than the component upgrades and saddle, I’d take all of that crap off my bike, except a Thunderbolt taillight that goes on the seat stay (left for us/canada, right for uk. For your tools get a pouch that fits in your back pocket. A bell does not make one go faster so it’s gotta go! Then buy a bike that costs ten times what you’ve got into that one, because they’re awesome.

    Or just do what makes you smile. Damn everyone else’s opinions!

    Seriously though, I don’t have any junk on my bike.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

