Something to torque about

Thanks for the information. Just what I need to get a stubborn screw loose on my partners handle bars to relocate her shifters.

M-Space: The Blog Strikes Back

For quite a long time now, I’ve had at least a theoretical grasp of the importance of correct torque settings for bike mechanics. Recently, though, I had practical confirmation of this ? and of why my recent purchase of a torque wrench was money well spent. In the process I also discovered a handy alternative to my previously limited repertoire of ways of dealing with a stripped screw head.

Torque is essentially a measure of turning force and in this context it amounts to how tightly you do up your nuts (stop sniggering at the back there!). If you want to know more about the gory details, Google can furnish you with many happy hours of reading material.

The reason that torque is important for bike mechanics (and I’m sure also for many other engineering-related disciplines but I’ll try to stay focused here) is that if you don’t tighten up…

View original post 1,290 more words

One thought on “Something to torque about

  1. Glad you found it useful. The Screw Medic worked for me on this particular bolt. That’s not a very large sample size, so I can’t say how effective it is in general. I got mine on Amazon (UK).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

