Bicycle Maintenance and Riding by “Feel”: Know Thy Steed(s)

Fit Recovery

Over the winter I had a new chain put on the Venge.  I also took the steering assembly (head set) apart, had it cut down then cleaned it up, lubed it and put the front end back together.  I also completely cleaned and lubed every component on the bike that could need it….

Saturday two weeks ago I took the Venge out for a spin with my wife and buddy, Phill.  On the way home my saddle didn’t feel right…  It was squishy.  We stopped by the local bike shop to say hi and I looked at my saddle.  This is what I saw:

image

No big deal, right?  Well, I’m sitting there wondering what would make the leather rip like that…  Sure enough:

image

I was lucky, the shop had the exact make and model (even year) in stock.  I had the new one put on and we were on our…

View original post 717 more words

Leave a Reply

